My Favourite Teacher

My favourite teacher, without doubt, was my English teacher, Ms. Imelda Lennon. Ms. Lennon was my English teacher for my full five years at the Convent of Mercy, Longford. She was simply amazing. She  introduced me to Shakespeare, to Bronte, Shelly and Keats, to Kavanagh and Frost. She instilled in all her students a love and respect for the written and spoken word and managed to make Shakespeare interesting to a group of teenage girls.  No easy task.

She is the epitomy of a teacher who had a true vocation to teach.  She was able to transform and even transcend the boring stayed English Leaving Certificate curriculum into something exciting and meaningful.

She also set me on my path (a path with a few twists and turns) when she asked me to become the student reporter for the local newspaper the Longford Leader.  A job I simply loved.  It took me a few years to arrive back on this path but I am now almost finished my masters in journalism. 

Imelda Lennon gave me the gift of literature and poetry, a gift worth more than any paper certificate.

Because, Education Matters.

About Caroline N. Duggan

Probably the best job in the world. Everyday I help millions of people access training and education for free. Passionate about brands and the psychology behind why we love some and loathe others . Part-time lecturer in Marketing Communications. Co founder of Center Jewellers. Wife, Mum, Lifelong Learner. Connecting from the beautiful city of Galway, Ireland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment