“In order to be irreplaceable one must always be different.” Coco Chanel

Coco Chanel

Last Friday I received the results of my Masters in Journalism from NUI Galway.  I was a nervous wreck opening the envelope. I knew I had not failed BUT I was not convinced I had achieved the high standards I always set for myself when it comes to education.

I always despair when I see really bright students just scraping by, really talented people just doing the bare minimum to get them over the line (barely).  I am afraid that type of lazy, non committed attitude, is  abhorrent to me.  If I am going to do something, anything, then I always want to do my very very best.

Doing your very very best is a lot harder when you a mum, a wife and you have a family business to worry about.  But I wanted to do this Masters so badly and with the support of really great family and friends I got though it. However I did not just scrape through it I got the  first class honours I really longed for.

I now have two first class qualifications both earned though a lot of hard work, grit and an enormous amount of determination. To all those who believed in me and who encouraged and supported me in every possible way I say a MASSIVE THANK-YOU.

I am now turning my mind towards completing my PhD and have decided to look at the area of Luxury Branding with an Irish twist. However, I have decided not to apply for funding this year but to spend this year really working and refining my topic idea.  I want it to be the very best PhD I can possible do and right now I feel I need a little breather and to spend sometime really thinking about and researching my idea. Also I feel my family also need a little breather and a little more mammy time.

elle-1958-chanel-paris-with-model-xln-lg-xln

To anyone  out there thinking about returning to education I say do it, but just don’t half commit, really throw yourself into it and BE THE VERY BEST YOU CAN BE.

I am seeking Irish luxury brands who would be interesting in being part of my research so please get in touch.

 

 

 

About Caroline N. Duggan

Probably the best job in the world. Everyday I help millions of people access training and education for free. Passionate about brands and the psychology behind why we love some and loathe others . Part-time lecturer in Marketing Communications. Co founder of Center Jewellers. Wife, Mum, Lifelong Learner. Connecting from the beautiful city of Galway, Ireland.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

